Search Search Menu

Assembly Notes - 1 November

01 Nov 2016

ASSEMBLY - Tuesday 1 November

PREFECT: Head Prefect asks the school to stand. Greets the school. Asks for silence as he does a prayer. He then announces the national anthem. Sing. He then asks the school to sit.

ASSEMBLY MUSICAL ITEM: 'Stormy Weather' by Harold Arlen, played by Jamie Hutton (saxophone)


College athletes have had two weeks of competition with a club meet at Rawhiti and one last weekend in Timaru. In the first meet a number of College athletes recorded personal best performances on their first day of competition. Sam King, Cody House, Kaveni Balenacagi, Patrick Thacker, Isaiah Punivai and Matthew Tod won their events while a number of other athletes finished in the top 3.

The wet weather was an issue on Saturday in Timaru and a small group of College athletes braved the conditions. Cody House achieved a 1st and 3rd in his sprints, Sam King had two 2nds, while Dion Houston won his 3000m race with a personal best time.

The top College athletes are currently preparing and working towards the National Schools Athletic champs, which take place in Auckland in the first weekend of December.

The College junior waterpolo side have had two games this season. In their first match the team was comfortably defeated by St Bede's and then faced a top CBHS side in their second match. Down 4-0 in the first quarter, the College side were facing a tough match but got back into the game and trailed 8-5 at the half. CBHS failed to score in the entire second half and with some outstanding goal keeping from Ben Cornell, College managed to sneak into the final quarter at 8 all. With two minutes left on the clock, College managed to slip ahead and held CBHS out for the remaining time, controlling the clock and scoring two more goals to win 10-8. This week the team plays St Andrew's.

In volleyball matches last week the Senior A side played a very good match against Cathedral College to win 25-23, 25-23 with the match coming down to a few key service runs. Both Year 10 sides had wins with Charles Neal and Roberto O’Shannessey playing well for the Year 10B side, while the Year 9B side recorded a 2-1 win over Hagley College.

Over the last two Fridays the College Year 13 rugby sevens side have competed in the CRFU tournament. In the first round of matches, the College team went through unbeaten to win round one. On Friday night the College side lost their first match of the night when CBHS scored in the final play of the game. The team came from behind with tries to Reilly Cormack and Oscar Acland before CBHS scored in extra time for a 24-19 score. In the last two matches, College had wins over St Andrew's 26-7 and Cashmere 31-7 to win the Bowl final. The front row duo of Taine Hintz and Angus Chapman had standout performances. The last round of matches are this Friday night.

This week there are a number of House sporting events to complete the year. Badminton, Senior tennis, golf and tug-of-war will be completed this week while junior House cricket and House rowing 4’s also take place. Check house noticeboards for details.

GUEST SPEAKER - Mr Willie Davidson, President of South Island School Polo (4 minute promotional video)


ICAS English High Distinction Certificates
John-Paul Lay, Joshua Stevenson, Max Surveyor, Toby Brooker-Haines and Wills Wynn Thomas

Australian Mathematics Competition High Distinction Certificates
Matthew Gibb, Andrew Kwak (x2), John-Paul Lay, Josh Johnston, Tom Tothill, Ralph Chiang, Nicholas Lidstone, Max Surveyor, Jayavi Premaratne, Chris Jung, William Quin, Cameron Stevenson, Christopher Brown, Hamish Thomas

Bio Olympiad
Gold Award – Connor Leadley
Bronze Awards – Cameron Stevenson, Kelvin Gong and Jeffrey Lai

Film Awards
Best Actor – Simon Brown
Best Idea – Finn Sziranyi
Best Music – Jeremy Lidstone
Judges’ Prize – Harry O’Neill
People’s Choice – Brent Criglington and the Year 12 french class for ‘The Multilingual Mystery of the Murder in the Morning’
Best Editor, Best Director and Best Overall Film – Hugo Beale for ‘After’


Waterpolo and Swimming - Max Clark

Harriers - Henry Idiens

Football - Jack Mitchell

Badminton - Jeffrey Lai

Cycling - Jo Hutchinson

ZONTA AWARDS - Sports team of the Year - Maadi Rowing 8

NZSS National 16s Tennis Title - Dylan Heap

Search website