New Prefects inducted for 2020

31 Jan 2020

Prefect gowns flowing, the 24 students of the 2020 prefect group were formally inducted before the whole school today, their families and friends watching on in the College Assembly Hall.

Chaplain Bosco Peters reminded everyone about leadership and leading, and the need for all to develop a capacity to both lead and to follow. He outlined different methods of leadership – from the front, from the back, from the middle, and from the side – referencing examples by Jesus, and encouraging everyone to consider the best style for the situation.

Executive Principal Garth Wynne invited Head Prefect Dominic Edmond, on behalf of the other 23 new prefects, to make their promise to the school:

“We will endeavour to fulfil loyally the duties and responsibilities of prefects and will do our best to uphold the good name of the College both within and without.”

Garth then admitted each “to the responsibility and privileges of a prefect of Christ’s College, in the confidence that you will loyally discharge the duties of your position and uphold the good name of the school both within and without.”

He presented each with a prefect tie plus a copy of Leadership by Example: The Ten Key Principles of All Great Leaders by Dr Sanjiv Chopra with David Fisher, and asked the school to give the new prefects its loyalty and support so they can fulfil their duties with character and integrity.

After the service, the prefects, their parents and invited guests enjoyed morning tea hosted by Garth.

The 2020 Prefect Group is:

Head Prefect – Dominic Edmond
Deputy Head Prefect – Louis Gunn
Head of House Condell’s – Fletcher Anderson
Head of Boarding – Sam Averill
Head of House School – Guy Chaffey}
Head of House Somes – Charlie Chubb
Head of Character and Leadership – Jack Drage
Chapel Prefect – Henry Eglinton
Chapel Prefect – Ederick He
Head of House Flower’s – Jarrad Hill
Head of Sport – Kyle Houston
Head of House Jacobs – Josh Johnston
Head of Wellbeing – Lachy Kitchen
Head of House Rolleston – William Koko
Head of Academic – John-Paul Lay
Head of Service – Joshua Mortensen
Head of Chapel Choir – Thomas McClean
Head of House Julius – Kynan Salt
Head of House Richards – George Simpson
Head of International & Round Square – Angad Vraich
Head of Environment – John Wong
Head of House Harper – Josh Wynne
Head of Arts and Culture – Jamie Yee
Head of House Corfe – Ben Young