Excellence comes in gold

12 Feb 2019

Assembly on Tuesday 12 February was dedicated to celebrating academic excellence and recognising the outstanding achievements of the boys who, as a result of their success in NCEA 2018, were eligible to receive Gold Badges, Gold Ties and Gold Buttons.

While these boys were applauded and rewarded for their achievements, Head Prefect Zach Gallagher encouraged all the boys to think about their own version of success, focus on hard work and effort, and always aspire to do their best. “Success lies not in the result, but in the effort. So focus on the effort you put in, build on what you have achieved, keep striving to be better. Push yourselves. Have another crack.”

Assistant Principal – Curriculum Joe Eccleton said 2018 was again a strong year for College in terms of academic results. He credited the boys for their “pure hard work and ambition”, but said the whole College community – passionate and committed teachers and supportive families – are a very big part of their success, ensuring the boys have the very best platform from which to achieve such results.

“You can see what you have to be and what you have to do to be successful. Intellectual or academic success is about pushing boundaries and I challenge all of you to pursue your own intellectual successes throughout the year. You must learn to challenge yourself, take intellectual risks, and take personal responsibility for your own learning.”

Academic Award Winners 2019

Christ's College Academic Award winners

Gold Tie Recipients 2019

Christ's College Gold Tie recipients

Year 11 Gold Badges

Fletcher Anderson
George Anderson
Dominic Edmond
Tom Jones
Fergus Laing
Charlie Owens
Owen Short
Tom Tothill
Tim Ward

Year 11 Gold Ties and Gold Badges

Rohan Baird
Henry Eglinton
John-Paul Lay
John Wong
Futian Zhou

Year 12 Gold Badges

Edward Bayliss
Alex Hemens
George Matheson
Luke Murch
Matthew Todd
Alex Todhunter
Tom Vincent
Nate Wain

Year 12 Gold Buttons

Ollie Brakenridge
Ralph Chiang
Gus Coates
Zach Gallagher
Nathan Penrose
Joshua Stevenson

Year 12 Gold Ties and Gold Buttons

Jordy Annand
Finn Brokenshire
Max Heywood
Nick Lidstone
Max Surveyor