Old Boys steal late win in basketball game

03 Aug 2023

The College Old Boys team has extended its unbeaten record to four wins, overcoming the College A team by one point in the annual basketball clash at Christ’s College.

Despite College A powering to a 12-point lead in the final quarter, the Old Boys have fought back, with Josh Book and Max Darling applying the pressure to seal the win, 90–89, in the final seconds of the contest.

Overcoming a slow start, the game gradually built, with numerous one-pass offences, plenty of three pointers, and sometimes little defence. For most of the game, the strategy aided Senior A, ensuring a comfortable lead – much to the joy of the vocal support crew.

However, in the fourth quarter, the Old Boys hit another gear, turning up the tempo and clawing their way back into the game. With a steal and a breakaway dunk by Ihaka Cate in the final minutes, Senior A seemed to take control, but Josh Book had the final say.

In an impressive clutch shooting display hitting numerous three-pointers, Josh brought the Old Boys back to within a point before a late basket – with four seconds left on the clock – delivered the lead to the Old Boys. A late play gave the Senior A side a final chance, with a scrambled shot. Unfortunately, it rolled out and the Old Boys – coached by Andrew Harrison, Ed Book, and Jacob Clements – tightened their grip on the new trophy, donated by captain Will Lovell.

Coached by Rams player – and NBL team title winner – Quinn Clinton, the College A players held their ground until the final whistle. Among the notable on-court match-ups, Head Prefect Ed Davidson took on his older brother, Tom, with both competing strongly for the ball.

Players from both teams are looking forward to holding the annual game in the new sports centre, Upper West, next year.

Old Boys: Will Lovell (2009), Josh Book (2021), Max Darling (2017), Tom Crutchley (2017), Jackson Stewart (2017), Fletcher Miller (2020), Aidan Palmer (2019), Tom Davidson (2019), Cam McCarthy (2021), Jordan Braithwaite (2022), Hamish Patterson (2021), Jackson Floyd (2021), and Santino Felitti-Duter (2022).

Senior A: Truman Heath, Aston Nijjar, Ihaka Cate, Tama Isaac, Hoani Ifopo-Togia, Harrison Laing, Ed Davidson, Boston Paerata, Austin Smith, Gus Eglington, Tawhiri Cate, and Josh Shanahan.