Old Boys steal late win in annual basketball game

03 Aug 2023

The College Old Boys team has extended its unbeaten record to four wins, overcoming the College A team by one point in the annual basketball clash at Christ’s College.

Coached by Andrew Harrison, Ed Book, and Jacob Clements, and led by Will Lovell, the Old Boys snatched the title in the final seconds to secure the 90–89 win after a hard-fought contest. Despite College A powering to a 12-point lead in the final quarter, the Old Boys steamed back, with Josh Book and Max Darling applying the pressure to seal the win.

Overcoming a slow start, the game gradually built, with numerous one-pass offences, plenty of three pointers, and little defence. For most of the game, the strategy aided Senior A, ensuring a comfortable lead – much to the joy of the vocal support crew.

However, in the fourth quarter, the Old Boys hit another gear, turning up the tempo and clawing their way back into the game. With a steal and a breakaway dunk by Ihaka Cate in the final minutes, Senior A seemed to take control, but Josh Book had the final say.

In an impressive clutch shooting display hitting numerous three-pointers, Josh brought the Old Boys back to within a point before a late basket – with four seconds left on the clock – delivered the lead to the Old Boys. A late play gave the Senior A side a final chance, with a scrambled shot. Unfortunately, it rolled out and the Old Boys tightened their grip on the new trophy, donated by Will.

Coached by Rams player – and NBL team title winner – Quinn Clinton, the College A players fought hard until the final whistle. Among the notable match-ups, Head Prefect Ed Davidson took on his older brother, Tom. Both competed strongly for the ball, one-on-one, challenging for possession. Despite the sibling rivalry, there was still some brotherly love on display.

Everyone is already thinking about next year’s clash in the new sports centre, Upper West.

Old Boys: Will Lovell (2009), Josh Book (2021), Max Darling (2017), Tom Crutchley (2017), Jackson Stewart (2017), Fletcher Miller (2020), Aidan Palmer (2019), Tom Davidson (2019), Cam McCarthy (2021), Jordan Braithwaite (2022), Hamish Patterson (2021), Jackson Floyd (2021), and Santino Felitti-Duter (2022).

College Senior A: Truman Heath, Aston Nijjar, Ihaka Cate, Tama Isaac, Hoani Ifopo-Togia, Harrison Laing, Ed Davidson, Boston Paerata, Austin Smith, Gus Eglington, Tawhiri Cate, and Josh Shanahan.

Thank you to referees Kirsty Howatson and Jayden Rosanowski and MCs Thomas McCulloch, Luc Botherway, and Tavor Abraham.